Forum Index > Projects > Interactive LED projects
 panel 1 is not working
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: matt () on Sunday, November 28 2010 @ 01:12 PM PST (Read 11431 times)  
Anonymous: matt

alrightly.... im going to go head and start off with, I have very little experience with soldering and circuitry before this, so the error is my behalf somewhere down the line....

first off, i read the directions to the t no skipping a step and double/triple checking myself the whole way...

first thing. after soldering most of the prongs, i notice that some aren't all the way flush to the board like the directions indicated... but i didn't think that would be much of an issue since its not too off and as long as they are soldered.

second, my soldering. ITS UGLY, i can already assure you that because i have no clue what a good solder looks like no the consequences of what will happen if its not done precisely...

thirdly... i don't have the power supply that you offer, if could very well be something as simple is that, i read the back of the laptop power supply because i forgot to order one along with my kit and figured well, everything is the same as theres as far as i can tell, so it should work... plug it in, hit the switch, nothing, no lights, no spark nothing. flipped the switch the other way as i watched in the plug in hole and noticed a tiny blue spark... then nothing again. flipped it a few times, tried a different outlet, lil spark, then nothing... im wondering if i may have shorted the switch out. hopefully i didnt screw it up completely... i know this can be fixed easily... i just have little experience with it...