Forum Index > Projects > Clock Kits
 after reuploading beady2 my clock is not working propperly
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: Meviar () on Saturday, October 01 2011 @ 11:35 PM PDT (Read 9184 times)  
Anonymous: Meviar

I uploaded beady2 to my clock because i wanted to change something ( i did not changed a thing) but now my seconds indicator is acting weird when it reached 12 it reset suddenly to 6 and does the time thing again and again

I uploaed the sketch with arduino 22 and the outdated datetime library

http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/DateTime





       
   
By: Anonymous: Meviar () on Saturday, October 01 2011 @ 11:40 PM PDT  
Anonymous: Meviar

I use a ds1307 beakout from sparkfun





       
   
By: Anonymous: Meviar () on Saturday, October 01 2011 @ 11:49 PM PDT  
Anonymous: Meviar

hen i remove my ds1307 it works perfect when i set the time again

But it worked with my ds1307before i reuploaded the code i need.





       
   
By: Anonymous: Meviar () on Sunday, October 02 2011 @ 01:14 AM PDT  
Anonymous: Meviar

This is what RTCgetTime outputs in the serial monitor test is just something i added
I tested the rtc alone on a arduino pro and it works perfect


test
10:7:42
test
10:7:51
test
10:7:55
test
10:7:58
test
10:8:28
test
10:8:44
test
10:8:52
test
10:8:56
test
10:8:58
test
10:9:28
test
10:9:44
test
10:9:52
test
10:9:56
test
10:9:58
test
10:10:28





       
   
By: Windell (offline) on Sunday, October 02 2011 @ 03:50 PM PDT  
Windell

We have not tested the ds1307 on the Bulbdial, so I don't know if there's an issue related to any differences between it and the 3231.

The RTC time is only queried once per minute, so it sounds like every time it's checking the RTC time, it's finding that the time is off, and is changing the time. That is to say, it sounds like it's getting a bad reading from the RTC.

I have not seen this problem, and I'm not sure what the cause is. There could have been a change in the wire library or the Arduino "defaults" that is causing the problem... so you might try an older version of Arduino, maybe 0017, just for comparison, to see if the library change is the problem.


Windell H. Oskay
drwho(at)evilmadscientist.com
http://www.evilmadscientist.com/

Forum Evil Scientist
Evil Scientist

Status: offline

Registered: 06/15/06
Posts: 1932
Sunnyvale, CA

Profile Email Website  
   
By: Anonymous: Meviar () on Monday, October 03 2011 @ 06:21 AM PDT  
Anonymous: Meviar

Thankyou, Windbell

Im gonna try arduino17 cause my ds1307 used to work with the standard firmware on the atmega168

Do you think that if i buy a chronodot v2.1 my problem is solved?





       
   
By: Anonymous: Meviar () on Monday, October 03 2011 @ 08:51 AM PDT  
Anonymous: Meviar

0017 did not work i dont understand that after uploading the beady2 the ds1307 does not function properly on the bulbdial while it worked before





       
   
By: Windell (offline) on Monday, October 03 2011 @ 09:49 AM PDT  
Windell

>Thankyou, Windbell

That is positively the strangest mis-spelling of my name that I've ever seen.


>Do you think that if i buy a chronodot v2.1 my problem is solved?

No; my guess is that the RTC isn't the problem.

i dont understand that after uploading the beady2 the ds1307 does not function properly on the bulbdial while it worked before

Do you suppose that it could be a *hardware* problem? Perhaps one of the connections to the RTC became flaky after removing it?


Windell H. Oskay
drwho(at)evilmadscientist.com
http://www.evilmadscientist.com/

Forum Evil Scientist
Evil Scientist

Status: offline

Registered: 06/15/06
Posts: 1932
Sunnyvale, CA

Profile Email Website  
   
By: Anonymous: Meviar () on Tuesday, October 04 2011 @ 10:44 AM PDT  
Anonymous: Meviar

Quote by: Windell

>Thankyou, Windbell

That is positively the strangest mis-spelling of my name that I've ever seen.


>Do you think that if i buy a chronodot v2.1 my problem is solved?

No; my guess is that the RTC isn't the problem.

i dont understand that after uploading the beady2 the ds1307 does not function properly on the bulbdial while it worked before

Do you suppose that it could be a *hardware* problem? Perhaps one of the connections to the RTC became flaky after removing it?



The weirdest thing that is gets the time from the rtc correclty when i start it up butt when the seconds reaches 12 the time get resetted to some random position most of the time its 6

When i start the clock with my rtc plugged in and its

7:32:36

Serial.print also says 7:32:36

the clocks start at 7:32:32

and then when the seconds reaches 60 the serial outputs 7:32:48 while it should output 7:33:00

It looks like it gets the wrong time but the rtc works fine i tested it with other code examples on the clock





       
   
By: Anonymous: Meviar () on Tuesday, October 04 2011 @ 10:49 AM PDT  
Anonymous: Meviar

I really think there is something wrong with the code its looks like the clock tries to get the rtc his time to fast and thats why it give a other time than where the clock is.

I think that when i have a preprogrammed atmega168 bulbdial my clocks works fine again.





       
   
By: Anonymous: Meviar () on Tuesday, October 04 2011 @ 11:09 AM PDT  
Anonymous: Meviar

I just tried a second ds1307 and that also doens't seem to work code is compatible with ds1307 it worked before, the rtc pins are intact i dont understand.

I wanna use my bulbdialFrown





       
   
By: Windell (offline) on Tuesday, October 04 2011 @ 11:40 AM PDT  
Windell

The weirdest thing that is gets the time from the rtc correclty when i start it up butt when the seconds reaches 12 the time get resetted to some random position most of the time its 6


Not weird at all-- it is clear that the problem occurs when accessing the RTC-- because the change happens only on the even minute, when the bulbdial asks the RTC what the time is.

I think that when i have a preprogrammed atmega168 bulbdial my clocks works fine again.

The Beady2 code *is* the original code that ships on the chips.

when the seconds reaches 60 the serial outputs 7:32:48 while it should output 7:33:00

It's not clear to me what you're doing here. Is this reading the time output from the Bulbdial, or are you doing something else?

How is the ds1307 board wired up to the Bulbdial?


Windell H. Oskay
drwho(at)evilmadscientist.com
http://www.evilmadscientist.com/

Forum Evil Scientist
Evil Scientist

Status: offline

Registered: 06/15/06
Posts: 1932
Sunnyvale, CA

Profile Email Website  
   
By: Anonymous: Meviar () on Wednesday, October 05 2011 @ 04:16 AM PDT  
Anonymous: Meviar

ds1307 is wired up with f/m jumpwires sda to sda scl to scl ground to ground 5+ to 5+ i looked at the chronodots pin layout.

the time is what the rtc outputs i uncommented the serial.print in rtcgettime

if its 7:32:36 and i start up the bulbdial it starts at 7:32:36 when the seconds reaches 12(60) on the clock the serial outputs 7:32:48 and the clocks seconds get resetted to 7:32:48

but its not a rtc problem because i tried different ds1307

It looks like its asks to quick for a new time and thats why it gets the wrong time





it asked the time 12seconds (7:32:48) later while it should ask the time 24 seconds (7:33:00) later to me it looks like there is some kind of delay issue

I wonder if it would help if i buy a new preprogrammed atmega168









       
   
By: Windell (offline) on Wednesday, October 05 2011 @ 04:43 AM PDT  
Windell

jumpwires may have high enough capacitance to interfere with reliable high speed readout. Not sure if this is the case or not.

- Can the RTC time be *set*?

- Does resetting defaults have any effect?


Windell H. Oskay
drwho(at)evilmadscientist.com
http://www.evilmadscientist.com/

Forum Evil Scientist
Evil Scientist

Status: offline

Registered: 06/15/06
Posts: 1932
Sunnyvale, CA

Profile Email Website  
   
By: Anonymous: Meviar () on Thursday, October 06 2011 @ 10:08 AM PDT  
Anonymous: Meviar

Quote by: Windell

jumpwires may have high enough capacitance to interfere with reliable high speed readout. Not sure if this is the case or not.

- Can the RTC time be *set*?

- Does resetting defaults have any effect?



When i remove the battery form the rtc so its time get resetted to 0 and plug it in and set the time with the bulbdial is does the same weird thing.

Reset does not seem to have any effect.

I dont understand it worked perfect before i re-uploaded the code

Im thinking of buying a new atmega168 with a chronodot.





       
   



 All times are PDT. The time is now 07:09 PM.
Normal Topic Normal Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic W/ New Post Sticky Topic W/ New Post
Locked Topic W/ New Post Locked Topic W/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Able to Post 
Filtered HTML Allowed 
Censored Content 

Evil Mad Scientist Forum Archives — Read only!

Please visit our new forums for new discussions.


DIY Hardware for Electronic Art


The Original Egg-Bot Kit


Octolively
Interactive LED kits


Meggy Jr RGB
LED matrix game
development kit.


Business-card sized
AVR target boards


Peggy 2
LED Pegboard kits

My Account






Lost your password?