Forum Index > Projects > Micro-readerboard project support
 powering via ac adapter
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: bobdood () on Wednesday, December 12 2007 @ 04:19 PM PST (Read 7790 times)  
Anonymous: bobdood

The most practical means of powering these other than with a battery
would be to use a wall wart followed by a switch and a little conditioning
circuit consisiting of a voltage regulator, two capacitors, and an inductor.
I might make that an option later.

Let's say I need to complicate the kit as I need to plug it in and not use batteries! I'm a beginner so I'm interested in learning and using the kit for a project but absolutely need to avoid batteries, for installation reasons. Questions...!

If I find an appropriate ac adapter, can I just use that and safely wire it up directly to the kit (in place of the included battery pack wires)? This is preferred, even if the adapters costs a few bucks. Do the components inside ac adapters regulate the voltage safely enough for this idea to work long term with a kit like this that doesn't have resistors for the leds?

If that is not a doable way to go, and I have to plug directly into a wall socket (no transformer), then can you describe the components required for this more in depth? Wall wart, switch, regulator, inductor, 2 capacitors, like you say. What sizes and design do you recommend and where to purchase? Or is that just too much information and difficulty to give to a beginner?

Thanks, would like to buy a few of these kits if I can plug them in and have continuous operation while plugged in (no on/off switching required). This site rocks by the way...

By: Windell (offline) on Wednesday, December 12 2007 @ 05:20 PM PST  
Windell

No problem.

The project uses two AA cells in series, anything else that produces 3 V DC, +/- 10% at 50 mA or greater is suitable. Just wire it up where the battery wires went.