Forum Index > Projects > LED Pegboard and Matrix Projects
 DMX
 |  Printable Version
By: xDGx (offline) on Monday, January 11 2010 @ 09:56 AM PST (Read 7492 times)  
xDGx

I have a question and - maybe - a suggestion for future builds of the board.
Using/modifying the peggy to use OPENDMX USB (with arduino) would make it easier for beginners to use the board without programming. I'm not really a PRO on the subject, but after reading about DMX lately, I thought that maybe it would make life easier for peggy users, because there's a DMX shield for arduino available and working... or maybe I'm just wrong ?
Thanks

Forum Scientist
Scientist

Profile Email    

By: Windell (offline) on Monday, January 11 2010 @ 11:49 AM PST  
Windell

The Arduino OpenDMX USB scheme that I can see uses the FTDI chip on the Arduino (or in the USB-TTL cable that we use, perhaps) as one half of a DMX interface-- the other half is an RS485 chip. This is a way of building a bridge between your computer and a DMX network-- the "Arduino" part of the board (the AVR) isn't even needed for this to work. That's a far cry from an AVR-based DMX solution, which is what I think you're asking about.

If you wanted to add RS485 (aka DMX) to a Peggy 2, that involves the same modification otherwise needed to add the serial port, plus an RS485 chip [EDITED-- see post below]. That's reasonably straightforward form a design point of view, but I'm not entirely sure what could be done with it then. I suppose that you could use another Arduino (or a standard USB-DMX controller) as the RS-485 controller, and then hook it to multiple Peggy boards. The I2C that we already support as a standard option gives a similar function-- control of multiple Peggy boards -- without extra hardware, though.

Now, you say "maybe it would make life easier for peggy users"-- Why is that? I haven't heard much about DMX, nor do I know who is using it or why. Is there something that I should know?

Windell H. Oskay