Forum Index > Projects > Other projects
 New guy trying to blink a led
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: Joe () on Sunday, August 08 2010 @ 06:28 PM PDT (Read 4080 times)  
Anonymous: Joe

I'm trying to learn this embedded stuff, using a 2313 target board, and I'm having a hard time figuring out what I'm doing wrong. I've been a software developer for 20+ years now, mostly with some kind of Unix/linux, so this is a new world for me. Sorry if I'm doing something dumb.

Anyway, I'm trying to run the following program, copied from the Adafruit tutorial

PHP Formatted Code

00003 #include <avr/io.h>
00005 // define what pins the LEDs are connected to.
00006 // in reality, PD6 is really just '6'
00007 #define LED PD6
00009 // Some macros that make the code more readable
00010 #define output_low(port,pin) port &= ~(1<<pin)
00011 #define output_high(port,pin) port |= (1<<pin)
00012 #define set_input(portdir,pin) portdir &= ~(1<<pin)
00013 #define set_output(portdir,pin) portdir |= (1<<pin)
00015 // this is just a program that 'kills time' in a calibrated method
00016 void delay_ms(uint8_t ms) {
00017   uint16_t delay_count = F_CPU / 17500;
00018   volatile uint16_t i;
00020   while (ms != 0) {
00021     for (i=0; i != delay_count; i++);
00022     ms--;
00023   }
00024 }
00026 int main(void) {
00027   // initialize the direction of PORTD #6 to be an output
00028   set_output(DDRD, LED);  
00030   while (1) {
00031     // turn on the LED for 200ms
00032     output_high(PORTD, LED);
00033     delay_ms(200);
00034     // now turn off the LED for another 200ms
00035     output_low(PORTD, LED);
00036     delay_ms(200);
00037     // now start over
00038   }
00039 }

I fixed the misplaced semicolon at line 21, but didn't change it otherwise.