Forum Index > Projects > Diavolino
 Diavolino newbie
 |  Printable Version
By: Jag (offline) on Tuesday, October 05 2010 @ 03:27 PM PDT (Read 4016 times)  
Jag

I just got my Diavolino kit and I'm a total newbie. I've melted my share of wires and circuitry just messing around and I don't want to make (further) mistakes by not following the instructions. Smile I've yet to start and I've come upon a question.

I intend on using the USB and the battery box for power ( BUT NOT AT THE SAME TIME Wink ).

On page #22, of the diavolino_instrux.pdf "How to add the Battery Box" The pictures show a Diavolino with the Reg. Bypass ( "No Reg" ) jumper already in place. None of the instructions previous to that point show installing this jumper. As far as I can tell the jumper is for required for just the 5V DC adapter. For battery box power is this jumper needed?

And just out of curiosity, why would one jump 3.3v to vcc? I'm still very green and from what I can tell this is to provide power to microcontroller (or not), to do what?

Thanks in advance.

Forum Apprentice
Apprentice

Profile Email    

By: Windell (offline) on Tuesday, October 05 2010 @ 04:03 PM PDT  
Windell

On page #22, of the diavolino_instrux.pdf "How to add the Battery Box" The pictures show a Diavolino with the Reg. Bypass ( "No Reg" ) jumper already in place. None of the instructions previous to that point show installing this jumper. As far as I can tell the jumper is for required for just the 5V DC adapter. For battery box power is this jumper needed?

I believe that the jumper is *not* required. However I can also assure you that adding it is *not* harmful. Big Grin

And just out of curiosity, why would one jump 3.3v to vcc? I'm still very green and from what I can tell this is to provide power to microcontroller (or not), to do what?