Forum Index > Projects > Egg-Bot
 Custom electronics
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: __monty__ () on Tuesday, March 22 2011 @ 10:27 AM PDT (Read 3099 times)  
Anonymous: __monty__

I have only recently found out about the eggbot and think it would be a great project.
However instead of buying a kit from EMSL I'd like to try and build it from scratch, mainly to see if I could pull of building a repstrap.

Since the plans are available the mechanical structure isn't really a challenge I assume.
The only thing I have mixed feelings about is the EBB. I would like to etch and solder my own pcb but it seems that the details needed for the board are too fine to do this.(And the board is two-sided?)

Which brings me to my question: Is it possible and/or easy to redesign the layout of the board?(I have no experience with eagle or designing pcb's.)
Additionally, I have two unipolar stepper motor's laying around which would be suited for the eggbot I believe. Would the electronics and/or software need a redesign to work with unipolar stepper's?

Thank you for your time, any comments are appreciated.

By: squall_line (offline) on Tuesday, March 22 2011 @ 10:52 AM PDT  
squall_line

Schematics, layout, Eagle files, firmware, etc are on the EiBotBoard website:

http://www.schmalzhaus.com/EBB/

Taking the design from dual-sided SMT to single-sided through-hole could be, um, interesting, to say the least. If nothing else, going from surface-mount to through-hole would increase the size fairly significantly. And if you want to take the time to learn to work with surface-mount tech, there are probably a number of MUCH simpler projects to start on.

Windell or one of the other members of the EggBot Design and Support team should be able to answer your questions about unipolar vs. bipolar steppers.

Forum Mad Scientist
Mad Scientist

Iowa, USA

Profile Email    

By: Windell (offline) on Tuesday, March 22 2011 @ 11:26 AM PDT  
Windell