Forum Index > Projects > Other projects
 Dark detector with white LED
 |  Printable Version
By: Windell (offline) on Tuesday, April 29 2008 @ 10:11 PM PDT (Read 19488 times)  
Windell

Here's a question that I got by E-mail from Jennifer:

Hello Evil Mad Scientist -

I absolutely LOVE your site and all of your projects. I'm in the middle of building your dark-detecting
led and got it working nicely. Great instructions! I'd like to mod it a bit and I'm new to electronics so I
was hoping that you could help me figure out what I need to get the modified circuit working
properly. I'm planning on using the following superbright led:
http://superbrightleds.com/specs/W15120_specs.htm and I've got a 3.6V power supply. I'm having
trouble figuring out the correct resistor value that will work with the rest of the components. When I
test it, the led is either extremely bright and doesn't dim with lower resistor values even when I
hover the circuit over a lamp. Or the led is very dull with higher resistor values even if I'm in a pitch-
black room. I can't seem to get the resistor value correct. Any advice?

Thank you in advance for your help!
Jennifer

And, here's my response:

Hi Jennifer,
A typical white LED like yours takes roughly 3.6 V to turn on fully. That's called the Forward Voltage ( "Vf" ), and is one of the items listed on that list of specs.

Back up a moment. On the red version (with the 3 V battery), the forward voltage of that LED is around 2 V. The transistor also has a forward voltage of about 0.5 V. When we put 2.5 V to the base of the transistor, current can flow from the base of the transistor to the emitter (0.5 V) and then flows through the diode (2 V). What we do then, is to use the phototransistor to control whether or not the base gets as high as 2.5 V. When the phototransistor senses light and turns on, current flowing through the resistor pulls the base of the transistor down to about 1.5 V-- too low for the LED to stay on.