Forum Index > Projects > Larson Scanner kit and LED Menorah kit support
 Setting fuses for expandable Larson Scanner?
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: jen () on Sunday, October 23 2011 @ 09:51 PM PDT (Read 2219 times)  
Anonymous: jen

Hello. I'm working on the expandable Larson Scanner project, and I think I may have hit a wall in the programming part.
I've got two of the kits assembled each with a 6 pin jumper, and the USBTinyISP assembled with avrdude and the usb drivers installed as well, on a 32 bit Windows Vista system.
I've downloaded the Larson Scanner code and looked at the Makefile but I have to admit as a beginner I'm a bit confused. I can't tell if I am supposed to be re-setting the fuses or not, and as this is for a halloween costume on Friday I really don't want to brick the thing.
These are the links that I've looked at...
http://www.ladyada.net/learn/avr/avrdude.html
http://www.ladyada.net/learn/avr/fuses.html
http://www.vonnieda.org/software/avrfuses
as well as the makefile, as I've mentioned.
Can anyone who has done this before offer me any insight? I see the command that I'd use to change them, I'm just not sure if I should be and what the values would be to plug into the calculator if so, or if I can use the info at the end of the makefile?
Thanks for any info

By: Windell (offline) on Monday, October 24 2011 @ 11:15 AM PDT  
Windell

If you're worried about bricking your chips, *do not* change the fuse values unless you have a specific reason to do so. Just use the makefile that came with the code-- without changing it --and you should be OK.

Windell H. Oskay
drwho(at)evilmadscientist.com
http://www.evilmadscientist.com/

Forum Evil Scientist
Evil Scientist

Sunnyvale, CA

Profile Email Website  

By: Anonymous: jen () on Monday, October 24 2011 @ 09:16 PM PDT