Forum Index > Projects > Diavolino
 Diavolino & PC power
 |  Printable Version
By: Mbarkpub (offline) on Friday, October 28 2011 @ 05:04 AM PDT (Read 1339 times)  
Mbarkpub

I am planning a project whereas a Diavolino will be installed inside of a PC.

1. Data will be sent from the PC serial port to the Diavolino ( via a MAX232 ). Do I need to think about RTS/CTS?

2. I plan to power the Diavolino from the PC +5v rail. The Diavolino will be powered after the PC and apps are running, so I don't need to put a load on that rail. Is there anything else I should consider?

Thanks


Forum Apprentice
Apprentice


Status: offline

Registered: 07/02/11
Posts: 2

Profile Email    
   
By: Windell (offline) on Friday, October 28 2011 @ 09:50 AM PDT  
Windell

Data will be sent from the PC serial port to the Diavolino ( via a MAX232 ). Do I need to think about RTS/CTS?

If you're sending just data, then no. RX and TX (and a common ground, of course) are all you need.

On the other hand, if you want to reprogram the Diavolino, you'll need a way to reset it to re-engage the bootloader, which is where the other lines come in. You could run a pair of physical wires to an external reset button to do this as well.

I plan to power the Diavolino from the PC +5v rail. The Diavolino will be powered after the PC and apps are running, so I don't need to put a load on that rail. Is there anything else I should consider?

I'm not sure what you mean by "put a load on that rail" in this case. However, the Diavolino itself draws rather negligible power (typically < 20 mA), and should work fine on the 5 V rail inside the PC.


Windell H. Oskay
drwho(at)evilmadscientist.com
http://www.evilmadscientist.com/

Forum Evil Scientist
Evil Scientist

Status: offline

Registered: 06/15/06
Posts: 1932
Sunnyvale, CA

Profile Email Website  
   
By: Mbarkpub (offline) on Friday, October 28 2011 @ 11:09 PM PDT  
Mbarkpub

Thanks for the quick reply.
The Diavolino will be processing data sent from an application on the PC. Any re-programming of the Diavolino will be done stand-alone.

The ATX power supply needs a load on the +5v rail to function correctly.


Forum Apprentice
Apprentice

Status: offline

Registered: 07/02/11
Posts: 2

Profile Email    
   



 All times are PDT. The time is now 04:35 AM.
Normal Topic Normal Topic
Locked Topic Locked Topic
Sticky Topic Sticky Topic
New Post New Post
Sticky Topic W/ New Post Sticky Topic W/ New Post
Locked Topic W/ New Post Locked Topic W/ New Post
View Anonymous Posts 
Able to Post 
Filtered HTML Allowed 
Censored Content 

Evil Mad Scientist Forum Archives — Read only!

Please visit our new forums for new discussions.


DIY Hardware for Electronic Art


The Original Egg-Bot Kit


Octolively
Interactive LED kits


Meggy Jr RGB
LED matrix game
development kit.


Business-card sized
AVR target boards


Peggy 2
LED Pegboard kits

My Account






Lost your password?