Forum Index > Projects > Clock Kits
 1 second LED activates 2 hour LEDs instead
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: J-Bo () on Saturday, January 14 2012 @ 01:24 PM PST (Read 1288 times)  
Anonymous: J-Bo

When the second hand (blue) LED should sweep to D51, D 51 doesn't light but the red LEDs at positions 10 o'clock and 12 o'clock (plus the actual hour LED) activate instead. Otherwise it works perfectly. The second hand sweep worked fine before I put the red ring on. I had a little trouble getting the red ring secured so I might have been a little rough with the soldering iron at the end. I visually checked all the solder connections on all 3 boards and they all look solid. R 1 and R 5 seem to be fine.

I've been tearing it apart and putting it back together and am running out of ideas. I'm a relative newbie and have been reading up on the charlieplexing. D51 is activated by LED 5:1 - and LED 1:1 + (I think). I can't seem to nail down the traces for the red LEDs though. I assume I shorted something out to get the red LED to light but I can't seem to see anything. Any thoughts or help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

By: Windell (offline) on Saturday, January 14 2012 @ 04:05 PM PST  
Windell

I'm guessing that this is about a Bulbdial clock. Big Grin

Can you please clarify which LEDs on the red ring are lighting up erroneously? Is it the LED at position 10, 12, or are they the LEDs that produce shadows at those locations. And, importantly, how is the clock oriented when you are describing these "hand" positions?

Please orient the clock with the * shape in the UPPER LEFT when you describe the positions, and refer to the positions of the LEDs, not the shadows.

If it were the LEDs at 12 and 1 on the red ring, that might be a little easier to diagnose.

Obvious thing to check: Are all of the LEDs on the red ring lighting up in the correct sequence?

Windell H. Oskay
drwho(at)evilmadscientist.com
http://www.evilmadscientist.com/

Forum Evil Scientist