Forum Index > Projects > Diavolino
 Troubleshooting first Diavolino
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: mftkoehler () on Tuesday, February 28 2012 @ 12:19 PM PST (Read 1566 times)  
Anonymous: mftkoehler

Hey all. I'm an Arduino newbie and just built a Diavolino to give myself another board to play with. I configured it to get power from the USB connection by installing the appropriate jumper. I didn't include the jumper to bypass the voltage regulator because by my reading of the schematics, it's unnecessary. (Right?) I also didn't install the LED, as I would like to run the LOL shield from it at some point.

Soooo. When I had figured out how to get the FTDI Friend recognized by my Mac, I got the dreaded "programmer is not responding" error. I see here that this may be caused by the Diavolino not resetting, and spent some time trying to hit the reset button at the appropriate moment. (As I understand it, anywhere up to 6 seconds before the serial input begins, yes?) I failed to transfer my sketches in all cases with the same error.

I've seen two possibilities that I've not eliminated to this point: first, clean off the flux, and second, check all my soldering. The soldering looks good, but I wonder if I could have overheated the board during soldering. I didn't linger over any joint, but I'm not clear on how much abuse the ATmega can take.

Any advice is appreciated, thanks.

Mike

By: Windell (offline) on Tuesday, February 28 2012 @ 01:19 PM PST  
Windell

Hi Mike,
First off, the AVR microcontroller is *tough as nails.* If something has gone wrong, that's almost certainly not it.

> I didn't include the jumper to bypass the voltage regulator because by my reading of the schematics, it's unnecessary. (Right?)

Yes, that is correct.

>I also didn't install the LED, as I would like to run the LOL shield from it at some point.