Forum Index > Projects > Larson Scanner kit and LED Menorah kit support
 Reprogramming the AVR: Menorah -> Scanner
 |  Printable Version
By: karlbyoung (offline) on Thursday, April 19 2012 @ 09:42 AM PDT (Read 1499 times)  
karlbyoung

Rank newbie here. Having tons of fun, but could use some advice, or at least moral support.

1) Built Deluxe Menorah -- worked!
2) Built Diavolino -- worked!
3) Built ISP Shield, hmm what can we program? Ah, the Menorah. Let's turn it into a scanner!
3a) Added 6-pin header to Menorah, and got appropriate cable.

The immediate goal is to upload the hex program for the Scanner into the ATTiny2313 on the Menorah board. But AVRDude is not getting appropriate responses from the ISP shield program loaded into the Diavolino.

I eliminated any issues with power (Diavolino powered by USB FTDI->TTL cable; Menorah powered from ISP shield with correct jumper setting). Communication speed at 9600 baud works fine.

NOTE: the following is for someone who understands the SPI protocol, especially the step-by-step part of it. I've assumed lots of knowledge from the mad scientists out there. I can provide many more details if necessary.

I loaded my own program into Diavolino to debug the problem, and walk through the SPI protocol (bit-banging so we can go really slow). Wanted to send standard "Enter Programming" message to tiny2313, and see what we got for a response. Enjoyed writing my program, which does the following:
-- hold down momentary switch, enter my "testing" mode (pull RESET low)
-- while in testing mode, a click on the switch will toggle the SCK line to the tiny2313
-- prior to SCK going high, set MOSI to next bit from command bytes (plenty of delay so it can settle in)
-- prior to SCK going low, read MISO, save away
-- after 16 clicks (8 bits, up and down), display returned byte over Serial back to console on my laptop
-- after 4 bytes, exit testing mode (RESET goes high)