Forum Index > Projects > LED Pegboard and Matrix Projects
 My Peggy 2 Wont light up
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: Tina () on Thursday, April 26 2012 @ 06:48 AM PDT (Read 2698 times)  
Anonymous: Tina

I finished soldering everything, and my board wont light up at all. First and foremost I only soldered one LED to check if everything was wired correctly and nothing happened. I tried to run the cube program and it says avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00. Can someone tell me what is going on? I am really new at Electronics, but not that new...

Thanks

By: Anonymous: Tina () on Thursday, April 26 2012 @ 02:28 PM PDT  

I also checked the power to the Atmega and it is reading 5 volts...if that clears up anything...

By: Windell (offline) on Thursday, April 26 2012 @ 07:57 PM PDT  
Windell

It's generally a good idea to get everything working first, before trying to reprogram it-- that way at least you know that the chip is programmed correctly.

There are quite a few things that need to be set up correctly for a given individual LED to light up. My first recommendation would be that you finish assembling the Peggy first, before trying to debug it-- certain rows won't light at all when first turned on, depending on how you have it configured, and certain minor bugs here and there can also turn off individual rows or columns until you figure out where the bad connection was. More generally, you need to make sure that the power and ground connections are good to the chip, that the LED driver chips and demultiplexers are in the right places (and correctly oriented) and that the oscillator is installed, and so forth.

Windell H. Oskay
drwho(at)evilmadscientist.com
http://www.evilmadscientist.com/

Forum Evil Scientist
Evil Scientist

Sunnyvale, CA

Profile Email Website  

By: Anonymous: Tina () on Friday, April 27 2012 @ 06:48 AM PDT