Forum Index > Projects > Micro-readerboard project support
 LED segment out
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: realitysmith () on Saturday, July 05 2008 @ 12:47 PM PDT (Read 4338 times)  
Anonymous: realitysmith

greetings,

I just completed initial soldering of the micro-readerboard kit. The instructions were excellent, by the way. When I turned it on, I noticed that one of the segments was not lighting. I'm new to this, so I assumed I make a bad solder joint. I checked them all as well as I could visually, and noticed I'd missed one. I soldered it. Turning the unit back on, after replacing the batteries, the same segment was out. So it probably wasn't that joint.

At this point, I don't really know what I need to check.

Also, I'm getting holiday messages without the jumper wire installed.

Did I do something wrong soldering? Heat damage? Any suggestions welcomed.

Thanks!

By: Windell (offline) on Saturday, July 05 2008 @ 05:48 PM PDT  
Windell

You probably have another bad solder joint that's disguised as a good one. Check the technical reference page ( http://www.evilmadscientist.com/article.php/mrb2ref ) for a list of which segment corresponds to which pin of the chip. As far as the holiday messages go, that sometimes happens if you are holding the device when you turn it on. If all else fails, add a little wire between the "DP" pin (pin 12) and where the red wire is connected at pin 20-- that will turn off the holiday messages for sure.

Windell H. Oskay
drwho(at)evilmadscientist.com
http://www.evilmadscientist.com/

Forum Evil Scientist
Evil Scientist

Sunnyvale, CA

Profile Email Website  

By: Anonymous: Joel Smith () on Tuesday, July 08 2008 @ 06:49 PM PDT  
Anonymous: Joel Smith