Forum Index > General > Ask an Evil Mad Scientist!
 Really new need some help!
 |  Printable Version
By: demonic_crow (offline) on Friday, September 05 2008 @ 02:25 AM PDT (Read 14602 times)  
demonic_crow

I'm really new at this stuff. I'm wondering what would be the best route to go. I'm wanting to work with LEDs. I'm wanting to make a 5x5x5 LED mutliplexing or charlieplexing cube or smaller. I just want to know where should I start with. I'm hoping to get a microcontroller programmer under $100 since I don't want to waste to much money getting into this. I like to start with this project and expand on it. I just don't know where to start since I see AVR, PIC, and Arduino. Don't know which to go for and what should I pick up to begin a project like this. Thanks alot.

Forum Apprentice
Apprentice

Profile Email    

By: Windell (offline) on Friday, September 05 2008 @ 03:32 AM PDT  
Windell

There are quite a few ways to do this cheaply. I'll always recommend an AVR or Arduino, which is an AVR with a nice hardware and software package attached. Expect to pay about $35-$45 for your first AVR and the programmer. To get started, look at how LED matrix displays are driven. You've got 125 LEDs to drive-- you might need external drive transistors or other support chips ($1-5) to make it run smoothly.

Windell H. Oskay
drwho(at)evilmadscientist.com
http://www.evilmadscientist.com/

Forum Evil Scientist
Evil Scientist

Sunnyvale, CA

Profile Email Website  

By: demonic_crow (offline) on Friday, September 05 2008 @ 12:53 PM PDT  
demonic_crow

which avr programmer should I choose. I notice there are tons of different one. Paying $50 is not a problem at all. Just I see their different one and hate to get the wrong one for what I'm aiming for. Does it really matter which one to get? Thanks a bunch and for the really quick reply. Can't wait to try some of the project on this site and in the books.

Forum Apprentice
Apprentice

Profile Email