Forum Index > General > Feedback
 Thank you! (My first AVR experience)
 |  Printable Version
By: Anonymous: Sammydee () on Sunday, July 01 2007 @ 01:37 AM PDT (Read 9782 times)  
Anonymous: Sammydee

Ever since a friend pointed out to me that playing with AVRs might be fun, I've been lurking on your site, and slowly accumulating prerequisite doo-dads.

Today I sat down to build your "Minimalist target board" project. It certainly took me much longer than 5 minutes to build, but it really was quite simple. I thought I'd post my experience, just in case any of it helps other folks out. Please excuse the free-association flavor of this. Smile

I'm a software guy by trade, but have very little recent experience with electronics. I did a few electronics kit projects as a teenager in the 1970s but nothing since then.

Your instructions for how to build the target board were very helpful and very clear. I had never used the sort of project board that you did, so I was initially puzzled over how things were done, but I got it figured out. It wasn't (and still isn't, really) clear whether you were just making solder bridges between adjacent holes or if you bent the pins over until they touched, then soldered them together. I wound up doing a little of each on mine; both approaches are easy and seem to work.

Having wired up the board, I wanted to get the software toolchain all working.

I had previously downloaded and installed WinAVR, and had downloaded and compiled your POV version of the MicroReaderBoard software as a test. This all worked like a charm. So now with a target board I was excited to do my first "make install" to download the program into the hardware. Unfortunately it didn't work ... it took a while to figure out the deal with the USB drivers. BTW, I'm using an AVRISP mkII.